happiness · life · mindset · Persaverance · Uncategorized

Gratitude Tuesday – 2/28/17

Being grateful is easy when things in life are going just the way you want. The grass looks a bit greener and the air feels more crisp. But today isn’t one one of those days for me. I’ve been struggling for the last 18 hours (yes, I’m counting). I missed a work deadline due to unforeseen circumstances by my agency. My relationship feels stagnant. And I just feel stuck in life. With the exception of the first statement as a fact, the last two are just feelings. Feelings feel permanent but I’ve learned through therapy that they are fleeting and not always accurate.

But I know, it’s days like TODAY, where I need to practice gratitude the most. Gratitude helps bring the good in our lives forward. And the more you focus on the positive, your life starts to look and feel good too. So today, I’m grateful for my son who brings unconditional love into my life. He is my north star when my life feels like it’s falling apart. I’m also grateful for the ability to support my son and not rely on anyone else other than the occasional babysitter. I am grateful for my courage and self-perseverance to get through the really hard days.

I’m going to focus on the now and not let worrying about the future steal my joy today. I’m going to believe that God is looking out for me and everything is going to work out for the best in the end.

Leave a Reply

